RSS

New Year’s Resolutions?

05 Jan

CrossfitHave you ever made a New Year’s resolution? No more 2nd deserts, I am going to exercise 3 times a week, I will have a Quiet Time everyday, etc… All good things. How often do you keep them? If you do, what helped you keep them? I think it boils down to motivation. How badly do you want it? For years I have said, and for brief periods of time been consistent, that I want to exercise regularly. It’s good for your health, you feel better when you do, etc… but have not been consistent. Well 5 weeks ago my doctor told me in no uncertain terms that I have fatty liver disease. I have had it for awhile. Too much fat in my system. Not enough exercise. So either I let this destroy my liver over time or I get busy and eat healthier and exercise. So that day I stopped by a local gym a friend runs and said sign me up. That was 5 weeks ago. I have  faithfully been there 3 times a week. I am motivated.

What about my spiritual life? I have grown lazy there as well. I read a passage from a book I am reading for our upcoming Men’s retreat that was pretty convicting. In this book the author quotes J. C. Ryle discussing the importance of private devotions (reading your Bible regularly and praying). “Here are the roots of true Christianity… Wrong here, a man is wrong all the way through. Here is the whole reason why many professing Christians never seem to get on; they are careless and slovenly about their private prayers. They read their Bibles but little and with very little heartiness of spirit. They give themselves no time for self-inquiry and quiet thought about the state of their souls.” Ouch… the truth hurts. So in the gym I work out with people (accountability) and we encourage each other. Well I have decided to head over to the gym of a consistent devotional life. Anyone care to join me? (comment on this post, let’s be accountable together and encourage one another)

“As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?” Psalms 42:1-2 NIV

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “New Year’s Resolutions?

  1. Steve Ortell

    January 7, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    Heya Kevin, it was really interesting to read your blog. I felt the same conviction over the same passage of that book. I decided to get regular Bible reading back into my life as well. I figure if I can stay committed to physical exercise, then if my priorities are correct the spiritual fitness should also be attended to all the more. I have started a read through the Bible in a year plan on my Bible app for the phone. It seems to be going well as of this point. It sends me a reminder by e-mail and by phone. If you are interested in it, we can do it together.

     

Leave a Reply

 
